Architectural photography is a type of photography that documents from the very beginning the design process, to the construction of a project up until the final product. On the other hand, some artists regard them as an artistic representation of the architecture as subject.
In this guide, you can have a glimpse of works belonging to this category in the M+ Collection, as well as library material on the related topic.
Within our collection, different terms are used to describe the drawings based on whether they are:
includes any images that captures the architectural-related idea before the commencement of construction. In the M+ Collection Archives, sometimes you will see architectural drawings reproduced in the means of photography.
 |
 |
 |
| collage (CA6/5/4/9) | architectural model (CA29/2/29/1) | sketches (CA38/6/6/5) |
will be photographed in various perspectives, usually shortly upon the completion of projects
 |
 |
 |
 |
| Interior (CA11/10/2/46) | Exterior (CA29/2/3/10) | Detail (CA11/7/2/15) | Aerial (CA11/9/2/1) |
involves clear composition, with the consideration of lighting, perspective and most importantly to depict the subject with the artist's intention. This kind of photography is mostly in the M+ Collection, rather than in the M+ Collection Archives.
 Bas Princen Reservoir Series—Valley (Jing'an) |
 Zhang Bo East Entrance Gallery Column of the Great Hall of the People |
 Michael Wolf Architecture of Density, No. 77 |
| 2018.278 | 2017.27 | 2015.669 |
Image building : how photography transforms architecture by 
Ezra Stoller : a photographic history of modern American architecture by 
Michael Wolf : Hong Kong outside : architecture of density by 
52 Weeks, 52 Cities by Here are some fonds in the Collection Archives that feature an abundance of architectural photography:
